OUI Lawyers Newton

If you’ve been charged with an OUI in the Newton, Massachusetts area, call an experienced OUI defense attorney to discuss your case. The United States Constitution and the United States legal system offer protections for those individuals wrongly accused of a crime or those with a legal defense to the charges against them. The penalties associated with an OUI are harsh, however, there are options available to you under Massachusetts law. Hiring an attorney can help you prepare and present a legal defense in addition to negotiating a plea bargain for reduced penalties if in your best interest.

OUI Penalties in Massachusetts

OUI penalties in Massachusetts depend on several factors including previous OUI convictions, age, whether you are able to take advantage of an alternative disposition, and whether there are any other factors in the case, including injuries.

1st Offense OUI Penalties

Penalties for 1st offense OUI include:

  • Up to $5000 fine
  • Up to 2 ½ years jail time
  • Up to 1 year license suspension

1st Offense Alternative – The 24D Disposition

If you qualify for an alternative disposition, or 24D disposition, you may be eligible for reduced penalties. The penalties associated with a 24D disposition are:

  • Possibility of entrance of Continued Without a Finding instead of a criminal conviction
  • Up to 90 day license suspension
  • Completion of alcohol education program
  • Up to 2 years probation

2nd Offense OUI Penalties

The punishments for a 2nd offense OUI include:

  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Up to 2 ½ years jail time
  • Up to 2 years license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

2nd Offense Alternative – The Cahill Disposition

If your first OUI conviction was more than ten years before the second offense, you may be eligible for an alternative disposition known as a Cahill Disposition. Under the Cahill Disposition, the 2nd offense OUI will be treated as a 1st offense 24D disposition with the additional requirement of the installation of an ignition interlock device. There are other alternative programs that may be available to you under Massachusetts law, depending on the particulars of your case.

3rd Offense OUI Penalties

If you are convicted of a 3rd OUI, you face:

  • Up to $15,000 fine
  • Up to 5 years jail time including mandatory jail time
  • Up to 8 years license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

4th Offense OUI Penalties

4th offense OUI penalties in the Newton, Massachusetts area can be severe and include:

  • Up to $25,000 fine
  • Up to 5 years jail time including mandatory jail time
  • Up to 10 years license suspension
  • 90 day inpatient alcohol awareness program
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Call a Newton Area OUI Attorney

Know that there are additional penalties through the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles if you refused the breathalyzer or other chemical test. Talk to a Newton area attorney to discuss all penalties associated with your particular OUI case and any options available to you. An OUI can have a substantial effect on your life; hiring a qualified attorney can help you obtain the best possible outcome for you and your future.