Have you lost your license due to charges of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Massachusetts, and would like to learn about your options for getting your license reinstated, and what steps to start taking? The OUI Attorneys have a history of experience representing clients for a variety of DUI-related arrests, charges, and convictions, and our history of successes will be very helpful while we work towards the best possible outcomes of your case.
Contact us now for a free initial consultation, where we will discuss the circumstances of your arrest, the charges that you are facing, the possible penalties that you will be defending against, and how we have handled previous cases that resemble your own. You will be able to ask questions about your options, how these charges can impact your life, and how we can work towards a fair outcome together.
If you have lost your license after a DUI or OUI, read more below about how you may be able to work towards getting it restored, and about how we at the OUI Attorneys can help.
Getting Your Drivers License Restored After an OUI in Massachusetts
When you are convicted for an OUI in Massachusetts, you will face a series of penalties that depends on your criminal history, including whether or not this is your first OUI offense. Below is a list of the penalties that you will face given your OUI history, and the steps you must take in order to get your license restored:
First Offense OUI
If you have been convicted of a first offense OUI, you will be charged with a misdemeanor (unless there are other factors, such as a child in the vehicle at the time), and therefore the lightest possible penalties. This includes fines from between $500 and $5,000, potential jail of up to 30 months (although there is no mandatory minimum), and a 1-year drivers license suspension. There are a few options that you have to get your driving privileges reinstated after your first offense:
- You may be able to request that your license is reinstated during your trial if you submit this request within 10 days. However, you will lose your license again if you are convicted at the end of your case.
- You may be able to apply for a “Hardship License” during the term of your suspension, which will allow you to drive during certain hours throughout the week, provided that you can prove the possible hardship.
- After you have served your punishment, you will be required to pay reinstatement fees to the State of Massachusetts before you will be able to get your license back.
Second Offense OUI
Your second offense OUI will also be considered a misdemeanor, again provided that there are no additional factors. Your penalties will be steeper, including penalties of a minimum 30-day jail sentence, up to 30 months in jail, fines of up to $10,000, and a license suspension of up to 2 years. Below are the following ways you can reinstate your license:
- You will be required to install an Interlock Ignition Device in your vehicle for 2 years after getting your license back
- You will need to pay all reinstatement fees after you have served your punishment and completed the suspension
- You may be able to apply for a hardship license given the right circumstances
If you are arrested for a third or fourth OUI, you will be charged with Felony OUI, which will carry steeper punishments and more-severe legal outcomes. You can face charges of up to 8 and 10 years license suspensions, respectively, as well as up to $15,000 or $25,000 in fines, and mandatory minimum jail terms. After you have served your license suspension of either 8 or 10 years, depending on your third or fourth OUI, you may be able to apply to have your license reinstated provided that you again:
- Pay all reinstatement fees after completing your suspension
- Install an Interlock Ignition Device
- You may be able to apply for a hardship license, but your chances of being approved are increasingly smaller after each subsequent OUI
If you are charged with a fifth OUI in Massachusetts, you will lose any possibility of having your license reinstated, with no chance of a hardship license. In addition, you can face possible penalties of a mandatory 2-years jail sentence with up to 5 years total, and fines of up to $50,000.
Contact Us Today To Determine How To Reinstate Your License
The aforementioned methods of reinstating your driver’s license following an OUI arrest in Massachusetts are the basic steps but do not account for all of the different possibilities in sentencing, punishment, or additional terms that come with your charges and sentencing agreement. Contact us today to discuss your specific situation, and work with a professional OUI attorney in Massachusetts on getting your license restored as soon as possible.